New Scholarship joins Foundation’s emergent programming for College-bound Students
Apply at Deadline February 28, 2017
NEW YORK, NY – January 17, 2017 – The Foundation of The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences is happy to announce the Douglas W. Mummert Scholarship and its addition to the NATAS Foundation’s 2017 college scholarship program.
The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences’ Douglas W. Mummert Scholarship was established through an endowment by the long time academy Member, Governor, Trustee & Committee Chairman. Mummert also serves on the academy’s Scholarship Committee and their Foundation Board.
“The future of our great industry is in the hands of the next generation of television professionals that will come from the young students who are already proficient in recording, editing and writing for television at the high school and local community levels,” said Chuck Dages, Chairman, NATAS. “This new scholarship, added to our budding program of grants seeks to recognize these young people and encourage their education and eventual entry into the television industry.”
“By investing in the great talents of the future, we reaffirm the standard of creative achievement reflected in the Emmy® Award and the lasting legacy of two great practitioners of our craft,” said NATAS Foundation Vice President Adam Sharp, a 1996 Trustees’ Scholarship winner. “The Douglas W. Mummert Scholarship joins our Foundation’s emergent program in guaranteeing an unbroken line of excellence connecting two generations of broadcasters.”
These are the distinguished national scholarships awarded to outstanding high school seniors planning to pursue television-related baccalaureate degrees:
 The Douglas W. Mummert Scholarship ($10,000) – Awarded to a student pursuing a career in any aspect of the television industry, who has made a positive impact through community service.
 The Randy Falco Scholarship ($10,000) — Awarded to a Hispanic or Latino student pursuing a career in any aspect of the television industry.
 The Jim McKay Memorial Scholarship ($10,000) — Awarded to a student pursuing a career in sports television.
 The Mike Wallace Memorial Scholarship ($10,000) — Awarded to a pursuing a career in television journalism.
 The NATAS Trustees’ Scholarship ($10,000) — Awarded to a student pursuing a career in any aspect of the television industry.
This is the fifth year of the Mike Wallace Memorial Scholarship, funded by a five-year grant from CBS News in honor of longtime correspondent Mike Wallace (1918-2012) and presented each year at the News & Documentary Emmy® Awards. The Jim McKay Memorial Scholarship, now in its eight year, honors sportscaster Jim McKay (1921-2008) and was established in 2009 by the HBO, CBS, NBC, ABC and FOX networks. It is presented at the Sports Emmy® Awards each May. This is the second year of the Randy Falco and Trustees Scholarships.
Applications for national scholarships are due by 5 pm EST on Tuesday, February 28, 2017 via the online forms at NATAS Trustees and officials with the National Scholarship Committee will review applications and creative works along with participation from Univision Communications Inc., on the Randy Falco Scholarship. Final selections for all scholarships will be made in late April.