Emmy Statue



Founded in 1957, The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) is a professional service organization dedicated to the advancement of the arts and sciences of television and the promotion of creative leadership for artistic, educational and technical achievements within the television industry. It recognizes excellence in television with the coveted Emmy®  Award for News & Documentary, Sports, Daytime Entertainment, Daytime Creative Arts & Entertainment, Public & Community Service, and Technology & Engineering. NATAS membership consists of broadcast and media professionals represented in 19 regional chapters across the country. Beyond awards, NATAS has extensive educational programs including Regional Student Television and its Student Award for Excellence for outstanding journalistic work by high school students, as well as scholarships, publications, and major activities for both industry professionals and the viewing public. For more information, please visit the website at www.emmyonline.tv

In alphabetical order, the 19 chapters of NATAS are:  Boston/New England, Chicago/Midwest, Heartland, Lone Star, Lower Great Lakes, Michigan, Mid-America, Mid-Atlantic, Nashville/Midsouth, Natlonal Capital/Chesapeake Bay, New York, Northwest, Ohio Valley, Pacific Southwest, Rocky Mountain Southwest, San Francisco/Northern California, Southeast, Suncoast, and Upper Midwest.


The Nashville/Midsouth Region, founded in 1984, encompasses the States of North Carolina (except Asheville) and Tennessee, and the television market of Huntsville, Alabama. In addition to granting the Midsouth Regional Emmy® Awards, the chapter awards scholarships, honors quarter-century industry veterans with the Silver Circle, conducts Regional Student Television Awards of Excellence for high schools, has a free, nationwide Job Bank, provides member discounts, and participates in judging Emmy entries at the regional and national levels.


The Nashville/Midsouth Region encompasses the States of North Carolina (except Asheville)
and Tennessee, and the television market of Huntsville, Alabama.
Markets include:


  • Decatur
  • Florence
  • Huntsville

North Carolina

  • Charlotte
  • Durham
  • Greensboro
  • Greenville
  • High Point
  • New Bern
  • Raleigh
  • Washington
  • Wilmington
  • Winston-Salem


  • Chattanooga
  • Jackson
  • Knoxville
  • Memphis
  • Nashville
  • Tri-Cities


National Trustee, Whit Adamson, President, Tennessee Association of Broadcasters

National Trustee & President, Clifton Hunt, Sky 5 Reporter and Creative Services, WTVF

National Trustee, , Ellen Jones Pryor, Director of Communications, Frist Center for Visual Arts

National Trustee Alternate and Vice President,, Nicholas E. Dugger, Owner, TNDV: Television

Executive Committee, Phillip L. Bell, Owner, BellMedia

Executive Committee, Gene Policinski, Chief Operating Officer, Newseum & Freedom Forum

Vice President, Lisa Harless, Senior Vice President, Regions

Regional Vice President, Amy Burkett, General Manager, WTVI

Regional Vice President, James E. Ford, Jr., Supervising Director, WRAL

Regional Vice President, Sharon M. Tinsley, President, Alabama Broadcasters Association

Secretary, Emily Pearce, Retired Director of Vanderbilt Video, Vanderbilt University News Service

Treasurer, Jennifer Lane, Principal, Decosimo/Vaden

Legal Counsel, Suzanne Kessler, Bone McAllester Norton

Regional Office, Geneva M. Brignolo, Executive Director, NATAS Nashville/Midsouth

Governor, David Ditmore, Special Projects Producer, WZTV

Governor, Jennifer Duck, Producer, Anderson Cooper 360, CNN

Governor, Edie Emery, Director of Communications, Country Music Hall of Fame & Museum

Governor, Jessica Frost, Director of Business Development/Licensing, BMI

Governor, Aaron Gant, Vice President of Production, Warner/Chappell Production Music

Govermor Janet Ivey, Janet’s Planet

Governor, Samantha Jean, Deputy Director of Communications, Tennessee Department of Agriculture

Governor, Heather Middleton, Vice President of Public Relations, Nashville Convention & Visitors Corp

Governor, Michelle Palmer, Assistant News Director, WSMV

Governor, Tracey Rogers, Vice President & General Manager, WKRN

Governor, Pete Weber, Sportscaster, Nashville Predators

Governor, Adam Yeomans, Regional Director – South, The Associated Press

Advanced Media Chairman, Michael J. Schoenfeld, Vice President Public Affairs, Duke University

Awards Chairman, Beth Tucker Womack, Scheduling, Metro/Nashville Public Schools

Education Chairman. Dr. Linda Miller, Vice Principal, Metro/Nashville Public Schools

Program Chairman, Rich Stone, President/Director of Photography, Stone Productions

Student Awards Chairman, Nicholas E. Dugger, Owner, TNDV: Television